Dairy Free, Gluten Free Chicken and Rice

After going Dairy Free a couple of years ago, I really began to miss Chicken and Rice. It’s simple & it’s yummy…what’s not to love?! One night here recently, I was rummaging through the pantry to see what I could come up with for dinner. Brown rice, a can of coconut milk, chicken broth, chicken in the freezer…hmm… I tried an experiment and I was so pleasantly surprised. It was the yummy, simple Chicken and Rice I had missed; only it was dairy free, yay! *jumps for joy*
Here’s what you’ll need:
  • 4 Chicken Breasts (if yours are frozen, be sure to thaw them out first…otherwise, it creates too much liquid while baking)
  • 2 ½ Cups Long Grain Brown Rice – uncooked
  • 13.5oz Can Coconut Milk (I’ve used full fat and light…they both yielded tasty results)
  • About 1 ½ Cups Chicken Broth
  • Salt, Pepper and any other herbs and spices your heart desires
Here’s what you do:
  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Season chicken breast with salt and pepper (I also used Rosemary) and set aside
  • Coat 9×13 dish with olive or coconut oil
  • Pour uncooked brown rice into dish
  • Place coconut milk into saucepan and bring it to a slight boil (stirring often)
  • Pour coconut milk into a measuring bowl that measures at least 4 cups
  • Add chicken broth to the coconut milk…the two together should equal 3 ½ cups liquid
  • Stir mixture, then pour it over the rice
  • Place chicken breasts on top of the rice
  • Cover tightly with foil and place in the oven
  • Bake 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until chicken is done and the liquid has absorbed into the rice
  • Serve with some steamed broccoli for a complete meal & Enjoy!

Life is Short. Choose Love.

Does your relationship need a little pick-me-up?  Then try something new together!
The other night, my husband jokingly told me to sit on his feet and he would lift me up… He was referring to the little game that my niece and I play to see how long she can balance sitting up on my feet.  When he mentioned this, it made me think of some articles I had seen about Acroyoga. We pulled up some photos to get an idea of what kind of poses you can do, then proceeded to give it a try.
3 hours later, we were tired & sore, but, it had been SO much fun.  We laughed… A LOT! More than we have in a long time. It made me really see and appreciate his strength, and how he was concerned about making sure I didn’t get hurt.  We both had to fully trust the other and we had to work together on all aspects of our little endeavor. Not to mention it was a great workout for the both of us!
What started out as a little joke turned into an incredible bonding experience.  All I can say, is stay tuned, because I have a feeling this will be something that we continue to practice!
I challenge you and your Honey to do a little bonding by trying something together. It doesn’t have to be Acroyoga (although, it IS really fun), but something that will get your blood pumping (endorphins = happy) and that you’ve never tried together before. You could jog, take a scenic hike, lift weights, run a Mud Race, go skydiving, go ice skating, try a yoga class… Your relationship deserves the effort. What’s better than feeling deeply connected to the one you love?
“The best thing to hold onto in life is each other.”  -Audrey Hepburn
IMG_1608 IMG_1607 IMG_1581 IMG_1573.PNG de89e3_dc30fbb173a3488f99ab2edd00ffb79c de89e3_9a8d977c5e884be58e85fc4683e95a12 de89e3_1c4fa94bdeb745d6be3c05902f608cd9

Train Your Brain!

I was talking with a dear friend and client of mine this morning about how important it is to take time for yourself every day to set intentions, reflect, and overall just relax and not worry.  Mental health is just as important as physical health and should be a priority on everyone’s daily to-do list.
I have found through yoga and meditation, that happiness and contentment comes from within. It’s not about other people making you happy, things you think will make you happy, or circumstances you yearn for that you think would make you happy. You can wake up every day and decide that you will be happy. You have that power, but over time, we lose sight of that power, and rarely use it.
Take 5 or 10 minutes of your day and dedicate it to yourself. Learn to live in the present moment, because the past is over and done with and can’t be changed. The future is not a guarantee, so all of those “what if’s” and worries are just robbing you of your joy in this present moment.
Yoga and meditation can help you learn to love deeper, sleep better, be happy, become more grounded, reduce stress, and the list goes on and on.  Try these simple poses to connect to your inner self and relax a moment from the stress that can be life.
Can’t find a quiet place? Then book a 30-minute relaxation session with me! I’ll provide that quiet place along with relaxing music & essential oils, and will guide you through calming and restorative poses to calm and center you. We’ll end with a relaxing meditation and hot herbal tea. Contact me for more details!
Start in Easy Pose with your hands in Anjali (together at your heart).  Set an intention for your practice and begin with 10 slow, deep breaths.

Come into Child’s Pose for 10 slow, deep breaths. Toes together, knees about the width of your mat.

Bring your legs through, lay on your back and push your hips into a low Bridge Pose. Hold for 5 slow, deep breaths.

Using a support under your lower back if you need to, bring your Legs-Up-the-Wall. Start 5 or 6 inches away, and move your sitting bones closer to the wall if you can. Rest here for 10 slow, deep breaths.

Finally, come into Savasana.  Let your body melt into the floor and clear your mind. If thoughts arise, notice them, but then just let them pass. Stay here for at least 5 minutes, breathing deeply.
Peace to you! ~Namaste~

The 1D – What Makes You Beautiful Dance Party Workout Video

In honor of my nieces who LOVE 1D (Hey, 1D…if by some random chance you EVER see this, please please please please give a shout out to Taylor & Heather for me! They would think I was the coolest Aunt ever!) and not to mention the fact that I’ve always liked this song, I give you the What Makes You Beautiful Dance Party Workout!  Remember to warm up before you get started, and cool down when you are finished. Have fun…get funky…and know that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!  :)

Fed Up…It’s Time To Get Real About Food

Fed Up is a great documentary exploring the American obesity epidemic, and how the food industry is only aggravating the problem.
Did you know that Congress considers pizza a vegetable in school lunches? Me either! How crazy is that? Did you know that in 1980, there were zero children diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, but that in 2010, there have been over 51,000 children diagnosed? That’s a frightening statistic! I was shocked and angered by what I learned from the film.
Watch it! Then, take action! Visit the website: http://www.fedupmovie.com to buy the movie, learn valuable information, or to find out how you can help with this growing epidemic!